23 Untranslatable Foreign Words That Describe Love Better Than You Ever Thought

Thought Catalog

Shutterstock Shutterstock

Language is so beautiful to me. I love learning words from other cultures and discovering how we share our thoughts and emotions. Every time I stumble upon a foreign word or phrase untranslatable in English I save it in a special document to look back on when I want to feel inspired.

I think one of my favorite phrases I learned was when I spent time in Costa Rica. The Ticos often call their significant other “media naranja” which means “the other half of their orange.” I really love that. It’s so endearing. Way better than just calling someone your boyfriend or girlfriend, husband or wife.

I was going through my document of foreign words last night and I thought how lovely it is the way we can express and communicate the same universal feeling of love in so many different ways. Love is a complex emotion that has many…

View original post 867 more words

23 Untranslatable Foreign Words That Describe Love Better Than You Ever Thought

Leave a Reply

